I am Living Proof of Total Care.

Four UNC Regional Physicians Practices Earn NCQA Level 3 PCMH Recognition


Four UNC Regional Physicians practices have achieved National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)  Level 3 Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition. This recognition represents the care team commitment to providing excellence in the care to our patients and demonstrates commitment to improving quality.  Practices awarded this designation are:

  • UNC Regional Physicians Internal Medicine at Premier 
  • UNC Regional Physicians Internal Medicine at Thomasville 
  • UNC Regional Physicians Family Medicine at Adams Farm 
  • UNC Regional Physicians Family Medicine at Premier

The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home is a model of primary care that combines teamwork and information technology to improve care, improve patients’ experience of care and reduce costs. Medical homes foster ongoing partnerships between patients and their personal clinicians, instead of approaching care as the sum of various office visits. Each patient’s care is overseen by clinician-led care teams that coordinate treatment across the health care system. Research shows that medical homes can lead to higher quality and lower costs, and can improve patient and provider reported experiences of care. 

“NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition raises the bar in defining high-quality care by emphasizing access, health information technology and coordinated care focused on patients,” said Dr. Stacy Goldsholl, Executive Vice President of UNC Regional Physicians. “Recognition shows that these four practices have the tools, systems and resources to provide our patients with the right care, at the right time.”

To earn recognition, which is valid for three years, these four practices demonstrated the ability to meet the program’s key elements, embodying characteristics of the medical home. NCQA standards aligned with the joint principles of the Patient-Centered Medical Home established with the American College of Physicians, the American Academy of Family Physicians, the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Osteopathic Association. 

Back to News Listing